description

"A little girl from Singapore, A big boy from Sweden, together they meet, and together they fall in love with each other "

Tracy Chapman - Change

Wednesday, June 14, 2006

New York! New York! and Frankfurt

ole ole ole ole~~ ole ole~~

World cup mania...everywhere!

moi sitting infront of my lappy at 10pm and every now and then, someone living at my block, the next block, or in the coffeeshop downstair would screamed: "GOAAAALLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!"

I didnt know there's a surround sound system in my neighbourhood

My goodness~~~
i probably heard like "Goal!!" a million times BUT!! when i checked the scoreboard online, it's like 0:0 lor!!
Relax, people... don't kan cheong leh

i mean whats the big deal with Fifa World cup? Yesh, it happens only every four years (thank god for that!) but moi fail to see what's so fun abt 22 grown ups chasing after a ball?
*dodge flying saucer*

Hey! don't get violent...i mean that's just my opinion

So anyway, since moi was stopping by Frankfurt, might as well get some World Cup souvenirs to bring back to Singapore (and makes my friends envious..hahaha)

Fifa World Cup Germany 2006 Polo T-shirts for Tom and my brother's...selling like just 3.99Euros (S$8.00) *grab arh*


Shot glass with Germany flag
Moi wanted to buy the beer mugs as well but change my mind
Fragile stuff are really hard to carry back.. I kinda regret it now..but, alas
and this is a miniature jersey to hang on the car's window.
Nope, i don't own a car..

I need to mention this ===>
Shopping bags for your groceries or purchases are READ : NOT FREE!! in Frankfurt (I'm not sure whether it applys to the whole of Germany)
Moi had to pay 1 euro(S$2.00) for this plastic bag (not even a paperbag, mind you!) cos i forgot to bring my own shopping bag...
Morale of the story? BYO (Bring your own)

and guys! check this out!! see the crowd gathered at the rooftop of this building?

Alrite, lemme zoom in ===> they are actually Korean soccer fans!!!!

Yaay... it's the match between Korea Republic and Togo
i guess these die-hard fans failed to secure tickets at the Frankfurt stadium which is why they decided to put up a make-shift stage like beside the hotel moi is staying lor
(which makes me wonder..don't they have to work? Do you know that all around the world, companies are losing millions or even billions due to World cup? and im not talking about gambling and stuff)

im kinda impressed..i mean, c'mon.. would u be willing to stand 90plus minutes under the hot sun, supporting your country? (hmm, i mean i know of Singaporeans who stand in a quene for hours just to buy a Hello kitty plush toy or the Singapore Idols auditions)
And to travel all the way from Korean to Frankfurt just to watch a match from a screen on a stage?? talk about patriotism

I'm happy forKorea Republic who won in the end (like 2:1)
Only 2 Asian countries in Fifa World cup mah!! Must support support abit...

I mentioned in my earlier blog that i'm meeting up with my ex-colleague ===> Jon
He was working in my ex-company for half a year before going back to United States.

So we decided to meet up in New York since he said its not far from where's he putting up(Baltimore).
NOT FAR???!!!
it took him 3 hours drive, followed by an hour train ride before he reached New York!!!
omg~~
if i was him...........*sweat drop*
anyway, another reason he's coming to New York was to visit his cousin and family. His cousin's wife just gave birth to a baby girl! Uncle Jon....Muahahaha
so its like kill two birds with one stone..


all in all, it had been a fun trip~
sure hope to go New York again!!

New York leh!! New York has it all!!!!

Tuesday, June 06, 2006

06/06/06 = 666?

666 = luck luck luck (hokkien)
666 = drop drop drop (hokkien)
666 = sex sex sex (english)

666 = eat eat eat (cantonese)

666 is commonly known as the
Number of the Beast in Book of Revelation chapter 13, verses 17-18.

Like i care?

Except...finally ==> "The Omen" is showing in cinemas
(I heard it's not a fantastic movie either)

It's probably a big deal to the 310 couples who solemnised their marriages at the Registry of Marriages

Apparently its the highest record in a day since Valentine's Day in 1995.

anyway, moi flying to New York (via frankfurt) tomorrow!! yaay~
finally..the last time i flew to NYC? like one and a half years ago...Gee, thats long huh?
i remembered its vividly cause we were struck in a snow storm in NYC!!!

hmmm..wait..lemme dig out the pictures...


and this is me posing for a picture...yesh, my tired look (what u expect? jetlag leh)


See!! winter in New York is horrendous...
thank god i'm going during the summer else i'll freeze my arse again..

moi meeting up with my American friend as well. He's my ex-colleague actually.
He was working in Singapore for half a year before he went back to US.

Hope i don't spend too much on this trip!

Tuesday, May 30, 2006

Toilet cleaner? Me??!!!

moi just walked into the galley when my collegues said "Hey jas, some moron puked in the toilet sink! The leading say someone has to clean it up leh"

"inconsiderate idiotic moronic lunatic insanity creep"
Liability clause: im not talking about people who are really sick, airsick and stuff, those are the exceptional cases.. i'm referring to the "inconsiderate idiotic moronic lunatic insanity creep" who THINK with their lil brains that they can hold their liquor, drank too much on flight, and then happily puke into the toilet SINK!

Question 1: whats the point of having an airsick bag right infront of your seat?
for show? for decoration? for fun? for you to stuff rubbish? like duh~

Question 2: if you failed to see the airsickbag which is smacked right infront of you, and you made a mad dash to the toilet (i dunno how u mange to) why why why? of all places, you have to vomit right into the SINK!!! i mean the toilet bowl is just on the right`side (a slight twist of your body)..HEY, wait a min..come to think of it, based on the layout of the toilet, you will probably reach the toilet bowl first before you reach the toilet sink


what are you thinking man!! who in the right fame of mind would do something like that?
Yesh, Only "inconsiderate idiotic moronic lunatic insanity creep"

Wah Lau..

"Well, at least the person didnt puke onto the floor" my ever so optimistic colleague said
like HELLO~
*wave my hand infront of her face*

moi and my colleague went to kaypoh abit. Armed with the air freshener and gloves, we opened up the offensive toilet
*faint*

lemme tell you, the stench is totally unbelievable..smelling ur own puke is already DUH~
but smelling someone else and having to clean up after them...
One word===>
*pui*
sheesh, the whole sink was filled to the brim with vomitus!! sighz i wished i had my camera with me..should have taken a pix and show it to you guys
its almost like the guy puked his whole guts out..

*im totally grossed out* bleah~

So who had to clean up the mess?

Me LAHHHH!!!!

Actually i dun mind cleaning up lah..so used to it liao(seriously, u'll be amazed by the statistics). To me, i take it as part and parcel of my job anyway (i mean thats what i think lah)..
my Leading stewardess commented that apparently alot of crews nowadays don't think its part of their job to clear up vomitus and stuff. They would simply just lock up the toilet, deprieve others paxs from using that toilet and wait for the aircraft cleaners to do it after landing ( cos they think it ONLY the aircraft cleaners job)

I shall not go into details how i cleaned it ( you guys will probably wanna stand 2feets away from me! HAHA) But end of the day, the sink is cleared of vomitus and ready for passengers use.

I "thumb up" to my Leading indicating that the toilet is in working condition now. 20mins later, my Leading motioned me to the galley
"wah lau, not another toilet choked leh? i don't think i can handle two choked toilets in a flight" i wondered

Surprise Surprise Surprise!!!!
She actually wrote a letter of commendation for me!! woo hoo~
Not bad at all..

well, i still don't think i deserve it..i mean C'mon, i'm just doing what im suppose to do,
"yeah yeah, then how come nobody else volunteer to do it?" Tom's asked
well...uhmm..well...ermmm...i dunno

but what the heck...it will look nice in my records

so the next time if you wanna puke into the sink, think abt the poor toilet cleaners (including me) who have to clean it up after u!

Monday, May 29, 2006

Zurich trip...

Switzerland : famous for their swiss army knife, swiss watches, swiss mountains, swiss chocolates and and and..anything swiss
CHOCOLATES~wahhhh, just the sound of it can make my mouth water *droolz*

I simply love Chocolates...

from my profile in friendster:
Queen of Snacking ~ with a humongous craving for milk chocolates, dark chocolates, plain chocolates, nuts with chocolates, fruits with chocolates, liquer chocolates (is it too obvious? *grinz*). The list includes potato chips, ice cream, Boursin Cheese, yogurts, nachos..Bring it on, pple!!!


Switzerland is where Lindt chocolates comes from...yummy~


i didnt even buy alot this time round... still have tons of chocolates left from my Frankfurt trip~
This Tom arh, is saying that i should stop buying him so much chocolates and munchies..
That ungrateful guy!!..haha

The days in Summer time Europe seem to be getting longer and longer..
this is the picture i took from my room at 2102!!!
(if u can make out the timing on the TV!)

yesh! at 2102, the sky is still bright and clear.. and it doesnt help that the sun rise at 0400!
if u calculate,pple...you are talking abt 18hrs of mother earth in daylight !!

" It's a long FXXXing day" pple complain
Haha..now i know where it comes from..

So with the outside bright as day, even if its 9pm, moi don't have the feeling to go to bed
(not that i sleep early..bedtime is usually around 3-4am)

finally~~
the sun set at.........
2145
Woo hoo~
Tom says that actually Asia, including Singapore
have a longer day during summer as well..
? huh?
Just that it'
s probably a few minuters longer (like moi can tell the difference)

dunno if moi suan or what? My clear day in Zurich happened to be a public holiday there. Imagine all the shops are CLOSED! Shopping malls, supermarkets, shops, eateries, u name it, ALL CLOSED! Sianz arh, just stayed in the room to hibernate with me, myself, and I

Thank god moi bought milk and munchies when i touched down the day before..
Else moi will probably starved and die of hunger pangs in the room ..haha

the whole day was spent watching trashy TV shows, munchies...and and and
and yesh, i finally completed Tom's hair..uhmm.. i referring to my precious moments cross-stitch
>>> the boy's hair is completed!!! yaay~

spent 6hrs just doing the #$!%&$?*# hair!

and believe it anot, moi broke a needle in the progress..Funny~
probably due to irritation
(Grrrr..especially when u counted the number of stitches wrongly..had to undo and re-do)
麻烦!

Come to think of it, its nice to be alone sometimes... like my job, deals with meeting different people, interacting with people and blah blah blah...so its kinda nice to just get away for awhile..and be alone..

moi is in a weird mood now~

English: Chocolates
Swedish: choklad

Tuesday, May 23, 2006

Creepy Crawly...Gross~

This incident happened in our kitchen a week ago

Moi was happily surfing the net when my mom shrieked at the top of her voice (alrite alrite, she didnt)
she just go like "Girl!! GIRLLL!! come and see this!!!!

So moi immediately dashed into the kitchen thinking that there might be some kind of emergency i.e the stove on fire or the chicken burnt or someone jumped from our block

Mom, looking abit hysterical, pointed toward the floor and i saw some green slimy stuff

On closer look, moi realised that they are
WORMS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yikes~
Gross~
Puke~
Disgusting~
(yesh, you read my mind what i think about slimy worms)

In case you are wondering why the worms are decapitated...well, my mom, initially thinking they were just leaves on the FLOOR (i dunno where she get that idea from) tried to brush them away till she realised that green slimy stuff started ozzling out from it...



My mom a.k.a the fearless one
she's the kind of mom

: who can wack cockroaches/flies/ any flying objects with newspapers,
: cleans the fish stomach
: kills crabs by stabbing them with a knife
: claims to have kill and skin chicken with her bare hands in her kampong life (dubious~ dubious~)

And here she is asking me to help get rid of the decapitated worms
as if im braver then her??!!!

HELLO!!!!
moi "quoted on my friendster profile":
Queen of Entomophobia/Insectophobia ~ Fear of insects. Any insects - bees, warts, cockroaches (especially flying ones), spiders and blah blah blah *Arghh, mommy!! Save the Queen!!!*

remember??

Oh well, a mom in need, therefore a good daughter indeed
plucked up my courage...and moi to the rescue
"Here i come to save the day ye ye ye~~~~~" (wavering voice)


Darn~ im not gonna use a piece of tissue to pick those up...
a piece of paper is a better ideaYesh, thats moi scapping watever remains of the worms onto the paper.
Thats how pathetic i was~~ *sweat drop*

Haha, i know...apparently the annual shareholder report has better usage


and good riddance...down the rubbish chute they go!!
R.I.P

Monday, May 22, 2006

Children/babies on(over)board~

Before i started flying, moi is kinda indifferent to babies/children. i mean they are probably just small human beings in my dictionary.
If they don't bother me, i wouldnt be bothered with them either.


Yesh, i have friends who go ga ga over babies READ: plump babies. Friends who would made funny noises and go "awwwww, so cute" pinched the fatty cheeks. Friends who cooed over babies and screamed with glee when the baby speak in some funny foreign language that i can't decipher.

No! im not a baby children hater..( is there such a word? hater?)

All that change when i realise that children/babies is gonna be part and parcel of my job.. and its probably gonna remain this way as long as im in this job. Question: And why don't parents change the diaper of a baby after 10hrs? They kinda smell funny and its not a nice smell either..Baby smell nice? utter nonsense..
moi speak from experiences.
Trust me~

Moi would put children/babies into two categories.
No, not 1. children and 2.babies

or 1. boys 2. girls
or 1. adorable 2. ugly
(because there's no such thing as a ugly baby..all baby are suppose to be cute, aint they?)


I would probably categorise them into
1. nice 2. not so nice and thats putting it in a nice way

my company says that the children are our future passengers.

and parents appreciate it if you called their children by names and pay attn to them i.e
"hi Sarah, how's your chicken meatball spaghetti meal?"


1. nice small lil ones
They are the ones who make their parents really proud. Not in the sense of academic acheivements, but the ones who knows their P & Qs!
The ones who looked at you in the eyes, smile and say "thank you" when you give them their meals
The ones who asked "May i have a glass of apple juice?"
The ones who say "May i have a coke for my sister as well? she's in the toilet."

The ones who listen to their parents and not make a big fuss when they don't get their way

There was this once when i was so impressed with the upbringing of the children that moi mentioned it to their parents. "Thank you" the mother said while looking at her children with pride.

2. then there are the "not so nice" ones
The ones who cant be bother to look at you when you hand them their child meal, instead concentrating on their games
The ones who scream and run around the plane thinking its a playground
The ones who are so selfish that they fight with their siblings over a small piece of chocolate
The ones who kicked a big fuss and demanded "i want coke i want coke!!" when the parents said no


pple says "children are children"
yah, but that doesnt give you a right to treat pple with disrespect.
But i guess i shouldnt blame the children. Its the parents!

The parents who pampered their children too much that they grow up spoilt
The parents who don't teach their children right from wrong
The parents who let their children have their own way

Its the upbringing of the children that made a difference

So, Moi was flying back from Brisbane, Sunshine coast on sunday..
As usual, flight was packed with parents with infants, children and blah blah blah

This lil one, Hassim was waiting outside the toilet which was just located beside the galley.
He saw me and said "This is a good flight"

I was stunned that a lil one would say this. My Chief enquired further "why is this a good flight?"

I was thinking probably he's gonna say cos we were friendly, we chatted with them, we are nice or we have games and cartoons in our entertainment system.

Hassim said "because you gave out ice-cream onboard!!"

HAHAHA..the innocence of a child~~

Moi then said "we have some extras left. Would you like another one?"
Hassim "Uhh, yes please...may i have one for my sister as well?"

and with that, my chief said i was conned by a lil child..
Funny~

Friday, May 12, 2006

London trip!!


Before all this, I just wanna give a big thank you huggie to my brother for helping me with the blogskin...THANK YOU!!! really appreciate it.. it took like just 8hrs maybe??..u're not going to charge me your hourly rate, aint u? C'mon we are siblings!!

Finally!! the Long-awaited London trip!! Yaay
(actually it's because i was waiting for the London pictures from Ken..keke)

As usual, i bought a box of Bengawan solo pineapple tarts for Ah Ken. This guy arh, tsk tsk...asked me to smuggle a packet of "Bak kwa" into London. Sorry dude! Customs says "no meat products are allowed into UK" so make do with the pineapple tarts lah..


so DAY1
......to the famous London duck rice store!! Yummy Droolz

Ken said they gotten some award and stuff..who cares! as long as the food is good..
As usual, we ordered half a duck, roast pork and char siew and a plate of veggies with rice!!
Chomp comp away~

Damn sinful lor..that plate of Duck rice!!


check out the fats!!

========>
i deliberately enlarged the picture just so u can see how thick the layer of fat is!!!
uZap is not gonna help burn THAT away!!!







And this is me happily chomping on the sinful and fattening duckie!!!

好好吃喔!!

But dun play play lor...As u guys are aware, the standard of living in London is beri high..
its thus no surprise when the bill for the famous duckie came to around 30pounds
i.e. S$90!!!!!!
But being the nice and sweet Ah Ken, he footed the bill!!
Thanks worr...when u come back in Jun, i promise to bring you eat your favourite dry mee pok noodle!! you can eat as many bowls as u want!! My treat..keke

here's the namecard!! go and give it a try if you are stopping over in London!!
Chef Jasmine moi gives it 4stars!! out of 5 of course

After dinner, we walked around town looking for Marks & Spencer. Moi promise to buy stilton cheese for Tom. It's basically blue cheese.
Wikipedia says : Blue cheese is a generic type of cheese in which veins of Penicillium mold run through the crumbly texture. The cheese itself is not blue, but the veins inside give it blue dots.
READ: MOLDY CHEESE!! yikes...
Note: I'm not particularly fond of blue cheese but Tom! he absolutely worship blue cheese!!! That's an understatement..he can have it for breakfast, lunch, dinner and in between snacks.. that's how much he LOVES blue cheese..i wouldnt be surprised if he loves Blue cheese more than me!! (Jas to Tom>> just kidding) its definitely an acquired taste for pple like me...

So back to the story, Ah Ken and moi was walking around looking for Stilton cheese. (Jas to Ken>> hey,thanks for combing the whole of London looking for stilton cheese..keke, just few hours of walking only mah..can help burn off the fats from the duckie meal earlier)..
till now, he's so amazed about the amount of blue cheese i bought..
Wah lau, so many choices leh..and it doesnt help there's so many brands and varieties!! there's medium stilton cheese, mature stilton cheese, mild stilton cheese!!! still have all the award winning Stilton cheese leh!!
(hmmm, mabbe thats why Tom had to eat Stilton cheese for breakfast, lunch and dinner... issit too much??)

DAY 2
Cukoo coo coo...
woke up at 8am
( fyi, the sun rises at 4.30am in the morning and sets at 9pm during summer..talk about a long day!!)

TODAY is the day we are going to Stonehenge!!! Yaay!!!
Met up with Ah Ken..woo hoo~ on our way to the main train station to get our tickets *excited*

Ah Ken initially wanted to get the tickets online..But the train we were suppose to hop on was no longer reflected in the website. In the end, we had to get the tickets personally from the main train station.

When we got to the ticketing booth, imagine our surprise when the guy behind the counter informed us that the train line heading to Stonehenge was currently undergoing some engineering works!!! WHAT!!!!
dumbfounded~~
and i was so looking forward to Stonehenge *crushed*
the alternate route will be to take another train, change and then change to another bus or something!!
travelling time = 4hrs to reach there and another 4hrs back!!
which doesnt make any sense since the direct route just takes 90mins!!... ARGHHH

Apparently, the tube undergo engineering work once or twice a month..( am i lucky or what?) and its always on a SUNDAY!!
like Sunday is the day when there will be more pple travelling right??
They even closed the line to Healthrow airport!! i find that hard to comprehend...imagine the Singapore MRT closing for engineering work on Sunday!! i bet there will be lotsa angry protests and complaints coming from Singaporeans (maybe another white elephant saga?)

Will our plans ruined, we decided to go shopping downtown. Yupz...more Stilton cheese for Tom
*where's my stonehenge?* SIGHZZZZ

Dinner was at this Malaysia joint serving nasi padang

i realise something: whenever we are overseas, we tend to look for chinese joint or asian cusine..

so here we are (moi understand from Ah Ken that this place is like the famous malay food joint in London)
Geez, am i lucky? two days and i have been to two of the most famous asian eateries in London..


The redang beef and curry chicken are not bad, but not fantastic either.
Not the kind that makes you go like
"wahhhh!! Shiok~~" with a blissful look
The redang in Singapore probably taste better!

I mentioned that to Ah Ken and he was like "HELLO!! This is London leh! you should be happy there's beef redang to makan"

Well, at least they had teh tarik!!



With that, my London trip came to a nice ending..except "WHERE"S MY STONEHENGE??!!"
*throw my fists in the air* Grrrrr

anyway, Ah Ken promise to bring me to Stonehenge on my next London trip
*promise worr* pinky swear...

and Ah Ken===> Yesh, i heard you..the next time i come to London, i'll buy you your favourite " Chicken in a biscuit"
apparently its not found in the supermarket shelves over in LONDON!!??!!
Weird ~~

Thursday, May 11, 2006

New Blogskin for my boggie

Wah Lau...was looking through www.blogskins.com for almost 4hours liao!!
trying to find a blogskin for my bloggie
真麻烦!!
cant decide whether i want it to be simple? Anime? Dark? or cute?

my current one..as u can tell is a standard blogskin provided by Blogger.. Thought of changing it long time ago..Just couldnt decide on which blog skin to use..

And it doesnt help that you must have some knowledge in HTML or whatevernots to change it
CONFUSED~~ @_@

hope to make up my mind soon..Sighz


New Shoes & New cross-stitch!!

If you wanna buy a pair of Birkenstock shoes, where else to get them but at the place of origin of course!! GERMANY!!!

Tata!!!!!!...
(
yesh, i noe..its hard to match clothes with pink shoes.. unless your wardrobe is filled with pink clothes like mine..keke)
Ermmm, looks abit dirty cos i wore them immediately after i bought them

This is my second pair of Birkenstock shoes.. the first one was bought in Singapore at the Wheelock store for S$119!!! Only when i started flying did i realise that it's so much cheaper to buy them from Frankfurt.

Not only are the prices cheaper, they provide excellent services as well.
This pair cost only 28Euros i.e S$56..furthermore we can claim 2Euro tax rebate: Nett price S$52!!
They are really comfortable. I SWEAR!!!
Since im going to Frankfurt again next month, if you wanna purchase a pair of Birkenstock shoes..just leave me a msg lah!! I getting a pair for my mommy and myself (again)..Haha

NEXT....

I'm just starting on a new cross stitch for Tom..and its no bigger surprise cos he chose the pattern himself..

Hope to get it done by our anniversary..
Trouble is : So far, i only managed 11stitches!! in a timeframe of a month
So Pathetic right!!
*blow off the cobwebs and dust*

Funny thing was, I brought it with me when i'm outstation thinking that i'll just stay in the room and work on it. But shopping and laying in bed watching TV seems more appealing than "stitching precious moments patterns"!!!
And yesh, i pricked my fingers twice just doing that 11 stitches!!!
可怜的我

nimble fingers and clutzy me just don't go hand in hand.. Geez~

Jasmine to Jasmine :
加油!!!!!GANBATTE!!!!
i will definitely keep you guys updated on my progess!!

Lastly...in my previous blog, i mentioned that i'll put up pictures of my London trip..
Still awaiting someone *hint hint* to send me the pictures..haha
快点喔!!

English: Cross Stitch
Swedish: Korsstygn

Wednesday, May 03, 2006

Stonehenge!!

I feel so lazy today...

just logged on to MSN. Immediately, i received an IM from Veron. Apparently, Ken asked her to contact me, enquiring whether im still interested in the Stonehenge trip
(Jas to Ken :Aiyah, cannot contact me directly meh? your gf is a busy woman leh!!)



Yesh, i'll be flying to London this coming friday
"Yaay, i'll be away on the 6th may!!...Ermmmm *cleared throat* i mean it's so sad that i will be away to witness this moment"

anyway, back to the Stonehenge thingy. I think i casually mentioned to Ken last month whether he's interested to go to Stonehenge. It's finally summer in Europe! A good time to go sightseeing, (till i check the temp in London today: 10 to 18 degrees, showers!! Darn~)

So, this Ken, he has been living in London for almost 4years? and he never been to Stonehenge!!! One of the wonders of the world!! and being the nice and sweet me, i decided to accompany him on this historical visit.
The truth: i wanna go to Stonehenge and i kinda ask him nicely i.e force him to go with me..
Evil me...muahahaha

Just wrote him a mail informing him on my arrival date and time so he can go and buy tickets for the Stonehenge trip. Hopefully, the weatherman will be on our side when we go there and i'll promise to take some really nice pictures.

Time to jog around the neighbourhood!! I feel so LAZY!!! Arghhhhh....
gimme Clarin's firming cream anytime!! My team girl swear by it..

Thursday, April 27, 2006

The difference between East and West : ice-cream man!!

The ice-cream man we are so accustomed to seeing at every corner of Singapore,
zooming around in his motorbike~



And now, the cool ice-cream van in Australia....


But i guess our ice-cream man is still the best!

S$1 for chocolate chips with two biscult wafers or a S$.070 potong
vs
A$2.50 for a soft cone that taste similar to MacDonald!

Tell me about it



English: ice-cream
Swedish: glass

Finally, a gathering....

Before writing the bloggie of the day, i just wanna scream
"TOM!!! YOU #@$%*!!#"

Yesh, we just had one of our small lil argument this morning...over something which he thought was a small matter!! i'm not going to go into details here except "why am i always the one calling you back?"
probably should ignored you next time..Hmmph

Back to the bloggie:
We had our poly gathering yesterday:
Present: Kent, Darren, Veron, Jany, Tom and myself
The rest of the clique couldnt turn up due to other commitments (like??)


It has been a long while since we met up..the last time was probably 8months ago when Kent was kind enough to organise a BBQ at East Coast..
Geez, that long huh?


My polymates for three years!
i can still remember how fun it had been back then! Life was so carefree then other than the usual worries of exams, homework, $$$, BGR and other stuff. The "one dollar incident", our graduation held at Kallang stadium, the graduation night", Desmond wearing the g-string and dancing on stage (i have the photos to blackmail him once he becomes rich and famous...muahahaha), our economic lecturer (i cant stand her!! Grrrr)! Haha, so many funny moments...Sighz, before you know it, days, months, years gone by and we had known one another for 10years, a decade old friendship.

Wait a minute..Age must be catching up, man! moi sitting here and reminiscing about the past. Hmm, im starting to sound like those old pple sitting in the park, playing with their grandkids or doing taichi in the morning...Omigosh, im still not that old leh! Darn~

STOP!!
Let's talk about what we did yestie instead..we had dinner at Marche!
I need to mention this "Out of so many stalls, so many selections in Marche..why issit that five out of six people had to order the same thing i.e Rosti with sausages??!!!"
so there we were, all eating rosti...funny~~
as the saying goes "birds of a feather flocks together"..probably, people with the same tastebuds stays togther too huh?

And here are some updates:
Kent :
part of the 2% unemployed population of Singapore. i.e dont be so chosy lah! What the fish is Big Four anyway? *kidding*
Darren : still in KPMG (boring)
Jany : still in Deloitte (borring..) But wait!! She's finally getting hitch! Actually, she's legally married for 4years. Her customary is set on 1st Oct 2006 and she wanted me to be one of the sistas!
just applied for leave===> hopefully will get approved
(you know arh, i got Rome flight that week leh, but im giving it up for her..my good friend getting married leh! wats more impt??)
Veron : just applied for flat with Ah Ken! This couple arh, must kowtow kowtow : 9years long team relationship! and long distance relationship for 6-7years!! steady sia! I can hear wedding bells ringing soon..keke
ME: when i announced that i'm gonna get married as well, all of their jaws literally drop to the floor..Haha, relax leh, pple~~

Tom always says i take my friendship with others for granted. Haiz, i guess it comes the time when we had all grown up, have our own lives. It really hard to arrange a gathering together. Someone is bond not to make it due to work commitments, family commitments etc. Maybe i should put in some effort and meet up with my decade friends more often. I cant imagine 10years down the road when we have our family and children. Our children playing togethr while we chitchat over high tea..sounds like a good idea..Mabbe then, it will be a good time to reminiscing about the past! In the mean time, KOWTOW to our decade long friendship!!! and may we catch up more often...

English: Friendship
Swedish: vänskap

Wednesday, April 19, 2006

is it worth the risk?


I must say my work is a dangerous one..

Especially when its associated with terms like 9/11, terrorism, hijack, bomb, plane crashes, turbulences, decompression and so forth

On my last flight, we encountered really bad turbulences. Its the kind where adults were screaming and every babies/children started crying simultaneously !
Chaotic~
It doesn't help when i saw this lady praying in the cabin.

I was in the cabin when the plane experienced a sudden drop in latitude. And i literally flew up in the cabin. Not once but twice! Common sense immediately told me to grab a empty seat and strapped myself in. The lady sitting next to me was gripping the arm rest so tightly I thought she would have left permanent nail marks!

My colleagues had it even better, she was happily drinking her coke light in the galley when all of a sudden, she was lifted up into the air (as well as her coke)..next thing she know, she was drenched in coke light! Obviously, she was not amused!

Just as it came out of nowhere, it was over in less than 30seconds. Before i know it, the plane is cruising smoothly back to Singapore.

penny of my thoughts:
The chance of dying in a plane crash is 1:1,000,000
that might seem low. But the chance of u surviving the plane crash is practically ZERO!
at least (im not saying 100%) you might walked out of a car accident with a few bruises, none worse the wear.

What if someone decides to hijack the plane with intention of banging into some tall building again?

When you are 30,000 feet above sea level, there's basically nothing you can do except pray for a miracle.
And what about my loved ones? the pain is never gonna go away if something happen to me. Why am i risking it!!
Its not that the money is good mah. (obivously better than working in my previous accounts job drawing a measly $1900) But is it worth the risk of losing my life?
I remembered once, when i was sitting with my senior for landing. The tech crew must be pretty new in the job because the landing was REALLY REALLY bad. It felt like the plane just dropped onto the runway. I made this comment about what a bad landing it was.
My senior replied "there's no such thing as a bad landing. Every landing is a good landing. At least the plane landed" I thought it was such wise words.
one colleagues of mine mentioned that its not good to fly for too long.
Problems like harder to get pregnant, dryness of skin, exposure to the cosmic radiation and blah blah blah
Maybe thats why i heed my senior colleague suggestion to wear a girdle.
I wanna have babies, man!
But i bucked at the idea of comsuming Eu Yan Sen's bird nest every night! Hey, u know how expensive that's gonna cost??!!! Im not Fann Wong earning tens of thousands of dollars doing endorsements or advertisments!!
I guess every job have its risk (like every dog has its day)
Just have to keep yourself safe and pray that every flight is a good flight!
Just remembered, don't try and be a hero, looking for some karate legend in the freezing mountains of Aomori with the this dumb idea that "Japan look so small on the world map that we thought we would be able to find him straight" Duh~
That will be putting your life and your intelligence at risk!(pun intended)

Sunday, April 09, 2006

My first trip to Taipei!!!

Many find it hard to believe!

After two years of flying, its my first time to Taipei!
"you gotto be kidding" they said

and The Great Old One must have felt guilty about this.. which is why i'm finally rostered for a Taipei flight with a really long stay there! 2 full days to be exact.. woo hoo~
(2days only??!! i know it doesnt sound like a really long stay..C'mon, what do u expect? 5 star hotel, paid holiday. company's time)


DAY1
took the MRT to Wufenpu Garment Wholesale Area (五分埔)located near to Kunyang station 昆阳站 ( Since it's my first time in taipei, moi was happily following my colleagues around)
This place is huge! its similiar to Far East plaza or Hereen(but open air) with many small shops selling different things ranging from casual clothes to branded apparel and accessories, shoes and much mush more. And i must say Abercombie and Fitch is cheap here!! I bought this ultra ultra short Abercombie mini skirt (which Tom forbid me to wear unless i'm out with him) for like just S$35! And its the real stuff, man!

Night time
Taipei's night markets are unique, like the city itself
The 3 major night markets in taipei are
1. Shilin (士林夜市)
2. Raohe (饶河夜市)
3. huaxi (华西夜市)

Sad to say, we only managed to go to Shilin night market. It's the largest night market in town and a popular evening destination for local residents and foreign tourists alike.
It consist of a food section and a shopping section. The Shilin Fried chicken steaks located in Tampines Mall Basement probably orignated from here. But eating the real authetic Shilin Fried chicken steaks in Shilin..
Awesome~~ 好好吃

And its the first time i had fermented toufu (臭豆腐!)The smell is unbelieveable and that's putting it mildly

And if you are in Shilin food section, remember to try the "little biscult wrapped in big biscult (大饼包小饼 ) The little bisults have "salty" fillings of crushed peanut or spicy curry, or a sweet filling of taro paste. They are pan-fried until crispy, then pressed and wrapped in a thin pancake, creating a wonderful conbination of soft outside and crunchy inside! (Actually , i copied this from "Travel in Taiwan" magazine. i only found out about this snack when i came back from TaipeiDarn~ 讨厌


DAY2
lunch time~~ my colleague brought me to this Shabu Shabu joint near Taipei City hall station

Shabu Shabu??!!!


Wikipedia says : Shabu-shabu (Japanese: しゃぶしゃぶ), also spelled syabu-syabu, is a Japanese variant of hot pot While similar to most dish prepared nabemono style, it was cooked on table instead of cooked ahead. The dish is related to sukiyaki in style, where both uses thinly sliced meat and vegetables, and usually served with dipping sauces. However, it is starkly different in taste; shabu-shabu is more savory and less sweet than sukiyaki. It is considered a winter dish but is eaten year-round.


My happy colleague enjoying their shabu shabu~~



NOTE!!!!!!

1. Don't be deceive by it's look..
This is pig's blood with glutinous rice!!!!

*puke puke*
and mio happily mix it into my hotpot..

Im still having nightmares thinking about it..

2. Your knowledge of Mandarin must be good..their menus are all in chinese!!! How to read??!!... Not simplified chinese characters also

How could u go to taipei and not pay a visit to Taipei 101 (台北101), the official world's tallest building in the categories of highest structurally, highest roof, and highest occupied floor!! Two doubledecker elevators are able to take visitors from the main floor to the observatory on the 89th floor in under 39 seconds. (nope, i didnt go up to the 89th floor.. plan to do it with Tom in the future and kick him off from there..muahahaha)


(yesh, i know it looks lame to do the angle shoot thingy..I thought it looks cute when my colleague took it)

To the Bakery shop to buy breakfast!
Check out their selection of bread!!!
interesting huh
? My colleague who tried it said its actually very nice..

Taipei is definitely a must-go place..good food, great shopping, friendly people! cant wait to roster there again...*pray hard @_@

But first, i must brush up my chinese..Darn~ or我要study chinese or whatever..
Yesh, i know..i'm a chinese! and chinese speak mandarin..But somehow or rather, they cant understand what im saying..Is it me?? hmmm..

English word : Bread
Swedish word : bröd

Thursday, April 06, 2006

"why do you need another bag?!!"


what's with women and bags/shoes/accessories/cosmetics/facial products/body products etc etc?
We can't seem to get enough of everything..

SHOPPING..
somehow or rather, we alway manage to convince ourselves we need another pair of shoes, another bag, more clothes, this cute MAC pink lip gloss (like we need another lip gloss to add to our dozen other lip gloss..duh~) or that Osim's Uzap (but i gotto admit Fiona's figure is HOT HOT HOT...even i'm convince that it will help me zap zap away my fats )

We are big time suckers, man..

maybe that's the difference between man and woman.

Man shop when they need to
Woman shop when they want to

Man knows specifically what they have in mind
Woman go around looking for things to buy
Man go into a shop, take it, pay for it and step out of the shop in 5mins flat

Woman goes in, look around, try it out (in diff colours and sizes, mind you), think about it, walked around the whole day THINKING ABOUT IT, and then come back before the shop close and buy it
and many many many more.....

and how many times have we went window shopping and came home with tons of purchases, feeling at the top of the world, happy like little girls with lollies in their hands.

and how many times have we walked around looking for something to buy just cause our hands were feeling empty. Even carrying a small little paperbag made us feel so proud. Its like we need to buy something or anything just to make our day.

Shopping Therapy, we say
Weirdos, the guys exclaimed


and as Tom said when i told him i bought another bag
"Another bag? why do you need another bag?!!"


Guys just don't get it..yawnz


they will never understand the adrenaline pumping through the brain, the excitement, the thrill of getting something new..(ermmm, a bit out of context, but you know what i mean)

and this is my cute little bag (abit too small for my liking though)..i could hardly close the thing after stuffing it with my waterbottle, wallet and handphone (yupz, im a big bag person..i love big bags!! the bigger the better, can stuff umbrella lah, my soduko book, my tibits, shawl, waterbottle, camera and blah blah blah blah..muahahaha)

Yikes! Whats that black little thingy hanging there? you wondered

that's my cute little 魔鬼!! bought in Taiwan!!
Close up......
Apparently its suppose to protect 保护 me from evil spirts out to harm pple (as what my colleague explained to me)
They have different 魔鬼 for different usage.
Like some of the 魔鬼 are for pple who's looking for love, or luck or whatsoever.. Actually it look kinda look like the voodoo doll or those 打小人 thingy..
Haha..but if it can protect me. who cares!
Better be safe than sorry, peace of mind

Btw, im looking for sponsorship for my osim's Uzap
anyone wanna contribute to the "piggy bank for Uzap"? C'mon, you just got your Progess package leh!

English: bag
Swedish: påse; säck; bag